INTCO Wheelchair
Latest News news banner image

Latest News

Best Lightweight Folding Wheelchairs for Transport and Storage

Five lightweight folding wheelchairs worth comparing are the Drive AeroFly AFT18GY-SF, Karman LT-980, INTCO DOLY, NOVA 379B, and Vive MOB1108BLU. There is no single best model: Drive minimizes verified attendant-chair carry weight, Karman adds self-propelling rear wheels, DOLY offers several wheel configurations, NOVA publishes a compact folded envelope, and Vive combines a public price with 300 lb capacity.

That answer needs one important qualification. “Lightest wheelchair” can mean frame-only weight, weight without footrests, weight with rear wheels, net weight for one configuration, or a complete ready-to-use chair. Those figures are not interchangeable. This comparison preserves each manufacturer's current wording and marks missing data UNVERIFIED instead of filling gaps from retailers or memory.

Disclosure: INTCO Medical publishes this article and manufactures DOLY. DOLY is placed third, receives no “overall best” badge or rating, and is evaluated through the same official-source fields as the four other models. This is a specification-based editorial comparison, not a hands-on test or individualized wheelchair recommendation.

Quick Comparison: Five Lightweight Folding Wheelchairs

ModelPublished weight basisFolded size publishedSeat / capacityPropulsion formatOfficial priceBest transport or storage job
Drive AeroFly AFT18GY-SF13 lb frame excluding rear wheels; 17 lb including rear wheels10.8 in W × 29 in H; length not stated18 × 16 in / 250 lbAttendant transport; 13 in rear wheelsUNVERIFIEDLow-weight caregiver-assisted vehicle loading
Karman LT-98013 lb frame; 24 lb without footrests/riggings13 in W × 29 in H; depth not stated18 × 16 in / 250 lbSelf-propelled; 22 in rear wheels$310.59 saleFolding self-propulsion plus routine vehicle transport
INTCO DOLY10 to 12 kg (about 22.0 to 26.5 lb) net, configuration-dependent25.5 to 28 cm (about 10.0 to 11.0 in) folded width; length/height not stated43 × 42 cm (about 16.9 × 16.5 in) / 120 kg (about 265 lb)14, 22, or 24 in rear-wheel configurationsUNVERIFIEDB2B programs needing attendant or self-propelled configurations
NOVA 379B18.75 lb in features; 18.6 lb in specifications24 D × 8.75 W × 30.25 H in18 × 16 in / 300 lbAttendant transport; 8 in rear wheelsUNVERIFIEDNarrow folded storage with a published full envelope
Vive MOB1108BLU23 lb; no exclusions stated35 × 21 × 16 in; axis order not labelled18 × 16 in / 300 lbAttendant transport; 8 in rear wheels$144.99 salePublic-price occasional transport and storage
Illustration of a folding wheelchair with vehicle and storage planning references
Illustration of a folding wheelchair with vehicle and storage planning references

Prices and official-page data were checked in August 2026. DOLY's parenthetical imperial values are rounded conversions from its official metric specifications; the other manufacturers publish imperial values directly. Public retail price is not a distributor quote, and UNVERIFIED means the current official page did not show a public price. Always request a current quotation and exact configuration before an order.

How We Selected These Five Models

We limited the set to five current adult manual products that fold for vehicle loading or storage. Powered chairs, rigid non-folding active chairs, pediatric models, marketplace-only listings, and products without a live official model page were excluded. The order covers different jobs; it is not a single score from lightest to heaviest.

Each official page was checked for the same fields: product or frame weight, folded size, seat size, rated capacity, wheel format, footrests/arms, brake information, current official price, and missing or conflicting data. A model remains in the list when a field is missing only if that absence is stated plainly. Manufacturer specifications are primary product evidence, but they are not independent testing and do not establish individual fit.

Weight also needs a declared basis. For procurement, record at least four values where available: frame-only weight, heaviest removable component, the weight staff will actually lift, and ready-to-use weight. Note whether footrests, rear wheels, anti-tippers, cushions, bags, or other accessories are attached. For an overview of why a material label does not determine complete-chair performance, see INTCO's guide to lightweight wheelchair frame materials.

Finally, “transport” in this article means folding and stowing an unoccupied chair or using an attendant-propelled transport chair as intended. It does not mean that a model is approved for occupied motor-vehicle transport or a specific securement system. None of the five reviewed official pages states model-level WC19, crash-test, or airline approval; do not infer one.

1. Drive AeroFly AFT18GY-SF: For the Lowest Verified Attendant-Chair Carry Weight

The Drive AeroFly AFT18GY-SF official page provides two useful weight numbers: 13 lb for the frame excluding rear wheels and 17 lb including the rear wheels. The page does not clearly say whether the 17 lb figure includes the swing-away footrests, so buyers should not call it a fully accessorized carry weight without confirmation.

This is an attendant-propelled transport chair, not a self-propelled manual wheelchair. It has 6 in front casters, 13 in quick-release rear wheels with flat-free tires, attendant brakes, fixed desk-length arms, and European-style swing-away footrests. The 18 × 16 in seat and 250 lb rated capacity apply to this named model. A fold-down backrest and integrated carry handles support vehicle handling.

The official folded size is 10.8 in wide by 29 in high, but folded length is not published. That prevents a complete trunk-volume comparison. The best fit is a caregiver-assisted trip where low as-lifted mass and removable rear wheels matter more than independent propulsion.

Price, August 2026:UNVERIFIED; the official page requires sign-in to view price.

Honest limitation: transport-chair wheel format, incomplete folded dimensions, and unclear footrest inclusion in the 17 lb figure.

2. Karman LT-980: For Folding Self-Propulsion With Large Rear Wheels

The Karman LT-980 official page headlines a 13 lb frame, then separately states 24 lb without footrests or riggings. This is precisely why the smallest headline number cannot be compared with another product's complete weight. Buyers should obtain the ready-to-use carry weight for the ordered configuration.

Unlike the three attendant-only transport chairs in this list, the LT-980 uses 22 in rear wheels with push rims for self-propulsion. It pairs them with 6 in solid PU front casters, an 18 × 16 in seat, 250 lb rated capacity, fixed cushioned arms, and removable swing-in/away footrests. The official page lists a 13 in folded width and 29 in folded height; folded depth is not stated.

Karman positions the LT-980 for light-to-moderate duty and states that adjustability is limited. The page also warns that comfort may decline after roughly four to five hours. Those are useful limitations, not reasons to dismiss the model. They help define a sample trial: verify fit, propulsion tasks, duration, footrest handling, vehicle aperture, and storage orientation with the exact chair.

Price, August 2026:$310.59 sale; options may add cost, and this is not a B2B quote.

Honest limitation: the 24 lb value excludes footrests, folded depth is missing, and the base fit is effectively an 18 in seat.

3. INTCO DOLY: For Configurable Attendant or Self-Propelled Programs

The INTCO DOLY official page describes an aluminum double-cross-brace folding manual wheelchair with several armrest, footrest, caster, and rear-wheel combinations. Its 10 to 12 kg net-weight range is configuration-dependent: a fixed-arm/fixed-footrest version with 14 in rear wheels is listed at 10 kg, while a detachable-arm/detachable-footrest version with 24 in rear wheels is listed at 12 kg.

That range is DOLY's main procurement advantage and its main comparison constraint. A 14 in rear-wheel configuration can suit attendant transport, while 22 or 24 in spoke wheels with handrims support self-propulsion. The official specifications list a 43 × 42 cm seat, 120 kg rated capacity, 6 or 8 in PU front tires, plastic footplates, attendant hand brakes, anti-tippers, a half-folding backrest, and quick release.

Official folded width ranges from 25.5 to 28 cm. Full folded length and height are not published, and carton measurements should not be relabelled as wheelchair dimensions. Buyers therefore need to lock the exact wheel, arm, footrest, and caster combination before comparing weight, folded width, use role, or storage fit.

Price, August 2026:UNVERIFIED; the official page uses inquiry rather than a public price.

Honest limitation: one published seat size and no complete folded envelope; configuration choices materially change mass and dimensions.

4. NOVA 379B: For a Clearly Published Compact Folded Envelope

The NOVA 379B official page is the only source in this five-model set that publishes a complete folded envelope: 24 in deep by 8.75 in wide by 30.25 in high. That makes it easier to check a closet, storeroom bay, or car aperture before a sample arrives. Its 8 in front and rear wheels define it as an attendant transport chair rather than a self-propelled wheelchair.

The page specifies an 18 × 16 in seat, 18 in between the arms, 300 lb rated capacity, fixed padded desk/dining arms, and removable swing-away footrests with push-button height adjustment. It also lists an adjustable seat belt and rear wheel locks. These are model-page statements; they are not evidence of occupied vehicle-transport approval.

Two official-page conflicts need to remain visible. Feature copy gives 18.75 lb, while the specification table gives 18.6 lb. The product name says “19 in,” but the explicit seat field says 18 in. Procurement documents should request the current controlled specification for item 379B instead of silently selecting the more convenient value.

Price, August 2026:UNVERIFIED; no public price appeared on the official page.

Honest limitation: attendant-only wheel format plus official weight and naming/seat-width inconsistencies.

5. Vive MOB1108BLU: For Public-Price Occasional Transport

The Vive MOB1108BLU official page lists a 23 lb steel-frame transport wheelchair with a 300 lb rated capacity. It is the heaviest product in this selected group, so it is not the answer to a pure minimum-lift-weight brief. Its value is different: a public direct price, 18 × 16 in seat, hand brakes, padded arms, folding footrests, and a straightforward attendant-transport configuration.

The wheel setup is 6 in front and 8 in rear. Those small rear wheels do not provide self-propelling handrims. Vive publishes folded dimensions of 35 × 21 × 16 in, but the page does not label the axis order. A buyer should confirm length, width, and height before relying on the numbers for a trunk or storage drawing.

This model can suit occasional caregiver-assisted indoor/outdoor movement when purchase availability and 300 lb capacity matter more than carrying the minimum possible mass. As with every model here, capacity is not an individual-fit recommendation, and the staff member who lifts or unfolds the chair still needs a realistic task trial.

Price, August 2026:$144.99 sale; bulk pricing remains unverified.

Honest limitation: highest published product weight in this set, attendant-only rear wheels, and unlabelled folded-dimension axes.

Portable wheelchair selection matrix for lift mass, folded envelope, fit, capacity, and service evidence
Portable wheelchair selection matrix for lift mass, folded envelope, fit, capacity, and service evidence

How to Choose a Lightweight Folding Wheelchair by Job

Start with the job, then compare weight. The same chair may be portable for one team and impractical for another because lift frequency, vehicle height, removable parts, propulsion role, fit, or storage orientation changes.

Compare the complete configured chair for an approved use job, not one headline number.

Decide who propels the chair

Transport chairs with small rear wheels are normally attendant-propelled. Large rear wheels with push rims support self-propulsion, subject to fit, setup, user capability, and professional assessment. Do not buy an attendant chair for an independent-propulsion requirement just because it is lighter. INTCO's user-friendly wheelchair design principles provide a broader user, task, and environment framework.

Normalize the lift mass

Ask the manufacturer to state the complete product weight, transport/as-lifted weight, frame-only weight, and heaviest removable component. Record what is attached for each number. A 13 lb frame may become a 17 lb or 24 lb chair before footrests or accessories are considered. Observe the actual loading task, including grip points, reach into the vehicle, lift height, frequency, and storage of loose parts.

Measure the full folded envelope

Folded width alone is insufficient. Measure length, width, height, and the smallest vehicle or storage aperture. Record the loading orientation and whether rear wheels, footrests, cushions, bags, or anti-tippers must be removed. A narrow folded chair may still be long or tall, and unlabelled axes should not enter a space plan as facts.

Keep fit and capacity inside the decision

Seat width, depth, seat-to-floor height, arm and foot support, posture, transfer access, braking, and wheel position can matter more than one kilogram of product mass. The WHO wheelchair provision guidelines place appropriate products within assessment, fitting, training, and follow-up by trained personnel. The public scope of ISO 7176-7 also underscores that dimensions need controlled measurement definitions. Neither source turns a table into an individual prescription.

Verify service and configuration evidence

For a facility or distributor, check parts lists, manuals, brake and folding inspection, wear criteria, warranty route, training, serial/configuration identity, and change notification. Ask which evidence matches the exact model and options. INTCO's wheelchair verification and testing system illustrates the difference between test capability and a model-level report; request the latter for the ordered chair.

Questions B2B Buyers Should Resolve Before a Sample Order

A useful shortlist becomes a defensible procurement decision only after the unresolved fields are turned into supplier questions and sample tasks.

Which exact configuration is quoted? Record model, revision, seat size, rear-wheel size, caster, armrests, footrests, brakes, anti-tippers, cushions, and included accessories.

What does the weight include? Request complete, as-lifted, frame-only, and heaviest-component values in one document.

What is the folded envelope? Confirm labelled length × width × height, removable-part state, folded locking/retention, and carton dimensions separately.

What evidence supports capacity and safety-related specifications? Ask for applicable test reports, acceptance criteria, sample configuration, labels, instructions, and target-market documents. Do not treat a corporate certificate as every model's evidence.

How will the chair be handled and stored? Trial the real vehicle, doorway, elevator, closet, rack, cleaning routine, and caregiver handling sequence with qualified reviewers.

Can the supplier support the fleet? Confirm replacement parts, service instructions, inspection intervals, warranty, training, lead time, packaging, pallet/container quantities, and controlled change notification.

How long is the price valid? Distinguish public retail, dealer, facility, and OEM/ODM quotations, including currency, tax, delivery, options, and minimum order quantity.

Manufacturing consistency matters after a sample is approved. Review how specifications, parts, assembly, inspection, packaging, and later changes are controlled; INTCO's overview of wheelchair manufacturing and assembly controls provides useful context.

The lightest option on a page is not automatically the best portable wheelchair for a fleet. Choose a job-aligned propulsion format, verify the complete configured lift mass and folded envelope, preserve individual fit and capacity boundaries, then qualify service and evidence. For DOLY, request the exact rear-wheel, armrest, footrest, caster, weight, folded-width, target-market, and quotation details rather than relying on the range summary.

This article is for general health education and B2B product evaluation. It does not provide medical diagnosis, treatment advice, individualized wheelchair prescription, or product-specific compliance evidence. If you have a health concern, consult a licensed healthcare professional. Confirm clinical, engineering, usability, regulatory, and market requirements with qualified professionals.